Incumbent Reddy loses Inter-Canyon seat

-A A +A

Prielipp, Firor, Caimi win three board positions up for election

By Daniel Laverty

Newcomer Kerry Prielipp and incumbents Leslie Caimi and Karl Firor captured the three available seats on the Inter-Canyon Fire District board, according to Tuesday’s unofficial election results.

Two-term incumbent Michael Reddy lost his bid for re-election.

The unofficial vote totals:

• Leslie Caimi: 49 votes

• Karl Firor: 45 votes

• Kerry Prielipp: 39 votes

• Michael Reddy: 32 votes

Inter-Canyon has been steeped in controversy since October, when its former chief, David MacBean, was indicted on charges of stealing $647,000 from the district.

MacBean pleaded guilty April 7 to two counts of theft and one of embezzlement and faces sentencing in June. As part of his plea, MacBean has agreed to pay back the stolen funds.

Reddy, the only candidate who served on the board during the three years the thefts took place, received the fewest votes.

At a strategic planning meeting in March, Reddy announced he was thinking about resigning from the board amid criticism in the wake of the missing funds. The rest of the board members talked him out of it.

The theft prompted Prielipp to run.

“I don’t understand how this could’ve happened if there was the right oversight,” Prielipp said in March. “As a taxpayer and a citizen, I want to be a part of the solution.”

Inter-Canyon spokesman Daniel Hatlestad said a total of 64 ballots were counted and that the results would be finalized May 15.

Looking ahead

The new board will be tasked with addressing the future of the district’s Youth Patrol program for teens ages 14 to 18, which was started in 1958 to recruit future firefighters.

In the past, Patrol members trained and even responded on calls under the supervision of firefighters. Board members have expressed concerns that the district’s insurance might be inadequate in the event of an accident.

A group of parents and firefighters has formed to explore options that would maintain the Patrol program. The group is expected to present its findings at the May 14 board meeting. 

Currently, Youth Patrol members are participating in training only until a final decision is made.

Incumbent Joe Marcus was the only candidate to run for the available two-year term and will remain on the board. Board member Ralph Dreher’s seat is up for election in 2016.

The next Inter-Canyon board meeting is at 7 p.m. May 14 at Station 1, 7939 S. Turkey Creek Road in Morrison.

For more information, visit www.intercanyonfire.org.

Contact Daniel Laverty at 303-350-1042 or Daniel@evergreenco.com. Follow Daniel on Twitter @LavertyReports.