Jeffco schools receive prestigious honors

-A A +A
By Sal Christ

Thirty-one Jeffco schools have been awarded prestigious education awards by the state, including the Colorado Department of Education’s John Irwin Award, which recognizes “excellent academic achievement” as measured on a three-year school performance framework, as well as the Governor’s Distinguished Improvement Award, which is given to schools that demonstrate “exceptional student growth.”

Announced at last week’s school board meeting, the awardees include more than a dozen schools in the South Jeffco and mountain areas. Acting Superintendent Terry Elliott called the achievements significant, noting that one in five Jeffco schools received at least one of the awards; 10 schools were awarded both the Governor’s Distinguished Improvement and the John Irwin awards, including Bergen Valley Elementary and Marshdale Elementary in Evergreen.

Jeffco earned the distinction of having more schools recognized than any other school district in the state.


The following schools were recognized:

Governor’s Distinguished Improvement and John Irwin Awards

Bergen Valley Elementary

Dennison Elementary

Devinny Elementary

Elk Creek Elementary

Jefferson Academy

Secondary High

Marshdale Elementary

Meiklejohn Elementary

Mitchell Elementary

Parmalee Elementary

West Woods Elementary

Governor’s Distinguished

Improvement Awards

Bear Creek High

Colorow Elementary

Columbine Hills Elementary

Governor’s Ranch Elementary

Green Mountain Elementary

Peck Elementary

Warder Elementary

John Irwin Awards

Bradford K-8 North School

Bradford K-8 South School

Deer Creek Middle

D’Evelyn Junior/Senior High

Evergreen High

Fairmount Elementary

Jefferson Academy Secondary

Middle School

Manning School

Mount Carbon Elementary

Ralston Elementary

Ralston Valley High

Red Rocks Elementary

Sierra Elementary

Westridge Elementary

Contact reporter Sal Christ at sal@evergreenco.com or at 303-350-1035.