Twenty-three Jeffco students named National Merit semifinalists

-A A +A
By Sal Christ

Nearly two dozen Jeffco students have been named as 2019 National Merit Scholarship semifinalists, including five students in the Evergreen and Conifer areas and 10 from South Jeffco schools.
Announced Thursday, the 23 semifinalists are among 16,000 students recognized nationally and will compete next spring for 7,500 scholarships worth more than $30 million total.
Initial eligibility for the scholarships is based on individual scores on the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which students typically take during their junior year of high school.
Students who move on to the finalist round are eventually selected based on their academic record, information about their school’s curricula and grading system, two sets of test scores and more.
Local Jeffco semifinalists include:
Jessica Oudakker, Conifer High
Ellen Wight, Conifer High
Sydney Gilbert, Evergreen High
Colter Snyder, Evergreen High
Samantha Toeque, Evergreen High
Caleb Bristol, Chatfield High
Madeline Wessels, Columbine High
Cole Gibson, Dakota Ridge High
Samuel Mills, Dakota Ridge High
Samantha Bakes, D’Evelyn Junior/Senior High
Rory Devin, D’Evelyn Junior/Senior High
Emma Dukesherer, D’Evelyn Junior/Senior High
Cadence Fisher, D’Evelyn Junior/Senior High
Alan Li, D’Evelyn Junior/Senior High
Ian Widmann, D’Evelyn Junior/Senior High